BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I broke my right foot a few weeks ago. Why it didnt occur to me to do this after and not during the riding season, I dontrknow.

I am just wondering if anyone has installed a hydraulic stand on a 2000 -or any older model year- LT. It might be a precaution I want to take for the future.

Any special tools required?

·
Registered
795 Posts
A few people have done it and there have been at least a couple pretty good write ups, they should show up on a search for EHCS retrofit or similar. Here is one such example on a 2001, it should be similar.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
O man. I will once again have to bite of note than I can comfortably chew. I'm a wrenching newbie, not that it matters.

Will keep up the search in hopes that there's a true step by step post out there.

·
Registered
3,226 Posts
Richard, if you do go down this path, make sure you get the matching sidestand with the EHCS actuator and its support frame with skid plate.
All parts are needed for the actuator to function, you can't just use your old sidestand as it doesn't have the cross support that the hydraulic arm pulls on to pull the stand down.
It's mentioned in those other threads. :)

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Richard, if you do go down this path, make sure you get the matching sidestand with the EHCS actuator and its support frame with skid plate.
All parts are needed for the actuator to function, you can't just use your old sidestand as it doesn't have the cross support that the hydraulic arm pulls on to pull the stand down.
It's mentioned in those other threads. :)
Thanks, CWS. Now I wish I had gotten a skid plate way back when BMW was offering them for the early year models.

I'll do some research this weekend. Yours will be first among my many notes as I try to figure this out.

·
Registered
165 Posts
you can't just use your old sidestand .......