BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am wanting to buy a K1200 with 200000 miles on it. I am a mechanic so working on it won't be a problem. The dealer has the entire history on it. Including the fact that she is on her 3rd final. Everything works on the bike. What do you all think. This will be my first BMW purchase.

·
Premium Member
2011 R1200RT
8,158 Posts
What year model is it?

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
13,916 Posts
I hope you really enjoy her she is a fine riding machine. Don't let the mileage bother you as Don Aurther had 304000 on his bike when he totaled it on the way to the Iron Butt Rally. If you have another rear drive go out get Curtis (CharleyVT) to rebuild it correctly and you won't have to worry about it again. Depending on her age (not miles) you should consider new brake lines if they are over 7-10 years old as there have been quite a few at that age give out.

·
Registered
576 Posts
Good Lord...so what's the upper limit?

·
IBR# 366
16,544 Posts
Rocketsled said:
Good Lord...so what's the upper limit?
We haven't found it yet . . . :D

BTW, Don Arthur's LT had 334K miles on it, and was still going strong . . .

·
Registered
876 Posts
Nikasil cylinder lining, big oil pump, water cooing, almost 4 litres of oil and generous sized big ends and mains. This engine is derived from the time-proven K100 and they do colossal miles, they also had hard chromed crankshaft journals. Keep the oil and air clean and the coolant replaced and tha engine will last past any other motorcycle engine because it isn't over stressed.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7