BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I swear, I did try to search for the 'no tupperware' install of HID, but couldn't find any detailed instructions.

I have a 05 LT, and I just ordered a HID low beam kit.

Can someone point me to the install guide that doesn't have me tear the tupperware apart? Please?

Paul

·
Premium Member
4,886 Posts
It's there, ( I'll search later) but for most people, removing some of the plastic will make for an easier installation. You still need a place for the ballast and some have epoxied a shelf for it behind the light. I did my 02 quite a few years ago and it took about 2 hours. I don't work very fast!

You can reach up under to remove the black cone, but removing the front nose of the K1200LT will give you more room to work.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So, I am no mechanic, I am a computer guy.....

So, I guess, what I am looking for, is the easiest, most detailed instructions available for a 05 (I understand the 05 is the first year that changed some of the lighting stuff).
Also, the fact this is the first BMW I have owned, I am looking for an idiots guide....

Thanks!
Paul

·
Premium Member
2011 R1200RT
8,176 Posts
rosenhauer said:
I thought 05 was when they made HID headlight standard????
Also nope! I don't even know it it was an option in 05. That came later...

·
Premium Member
1,595 Posts
Paul,

If you go to this link you will get an idea of one installation, http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24707 . I installed mine but did it without removing any tupperware, just took my time and reached up from under the front of the bike. I did mount the transformer on top of the light housing as it made a nice shelf to velcro the transformer to.

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
DanDiver said: