BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a trailer to pull behind my LT. it has some damage and I’ve done some glass work in the past but a couple of these I need just a little guidance. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I’ll start here:)). Just wondering if I need to cut away the piece in the first pic. The second looks like it was originally filled with resin and shaped if that makes sense. Thanks in advance. Bryan

Attachments

·
Registered
137 Posts
Once you get it repaired you will have a great trailer. I have one like it and it pulls great. It will cost you 2 or 3 miles per gallon. It is nice to have those power assisted brakes pulling a trailer. I never know it's back there unless I am backing up.dd

·
Registered
49 Posts
I am no expert, but you may be dealing with SMC which is similar to glass but uses different products to repair your local auto body supply house could help.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Took trailer to repair shop, dang i wish i would have sat down... $2000 min in repair work, yup I'll step up and do the work.

·
Premium Member
226 Posts
Took trailer to repair shop, dang i wish i would have sat down... $2000 min in repair work, yup I'll step up and do the work.
I'll not claim "expert" regarding the skill required for repair either. However, one of my (too many) careers was in selling equipment, tooling, and supplies to manufacturers of such products. Depending on volume, these trailers were probably built with the outer shell being done in a mold. In the process, the mold is meticulously cleaned, polished, and kept free of contamination. At least, the outer shell is formed in the mold possibly using a fine layer of non-woven fiber & resin. Additional layers could be applied for strength.