BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just curious. Has anyone ever used any fuel injector cleaner in the tank? If so what kind. Thanks Quohog.

·
Registered
12,165 Posts
quohog said:
Just curious. Has anyone ever used any fuel injector cleaner in the tank? If so what kind. Thanks Quohog.
Tank added injector cleaners are not very effective at all, at least the ones you can buy from your local stores.

The REAL fuel injector cleaners are the highly concentrated ones that are used in a small tank that is attached to the fuel rail and pressurized to the correct running pressure by compressed air, and the engine run on that instead of it's normal supply from the fuel pump. There are a couple of tank added ones that are not readily available, one is B-44 or something like that, but I have no experience with them.

Beyond that, removing them and sending them to an injector rebuilding shop is the only remaining way.

·
THE Democracy Doctor
5,694 Posts
quohog said:
Just curious. Has anyone ever used any fuel injector cleaner in the tank? If so what kind.
I frequently (every couple thousand miles) use Techron and as a fuel injector cleaner. Injectors in both cage and cycle have remained with that perfect "new" spray pattern.

·
Registered
1999 LTC
14,458 Posts
dshealey said:
Tank added injector cleaners are not very effective at all, at least the ones you can buy from your local stores.

The REAL fuel injector cleaners are the highly concentrated ones that are used in a small tank that is attached to the fuel rail and pressurized to the correct running pressure by compressed air, and the engine run on that instead of it's normal supply from the fuel pump. There are a couple of tank added ones that are not readily available, one is B-44 or something like that, but I have no experience with them.

Beyond that, removing them and sending them to an injector rebuilding shop is the only remaining way.