BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to BMWs and this forum. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide me on this problem. There is a lot of experience and wisdom on this forum which is really great for a newbee like me. Thanks.

Today as I finished filling my fuel tank on my recently purchased 03 K1200LT, I was putting the fuel cap back when I noticed an object fall from the fuel door and drop into my tank. I could not see it in the tank so I had no idea what it was. Everything looked normal on the cap and the key fob was still attatched to the key ring attached to the key in the cap.

After putting the cap back on I closed the fuel door, but it would not stay closed. When I investigated why I noticed the latch for the door was missing, not the piece that is part on the door itself but the part on the tupperware that the door clicks into. So here are my questions:

1) Anyone have this happen to them before?
2) If so, how did you retrieve the item from the tank?
3) Are there places to buy parts online like this or do I have to get it from the nearest BMW dealer?

One final question that is not related to my current "learning opportunity"...
I have noticed many of you have a map at the bottom of your page showing where you have traveled. One is from mytriplogs.com, but how do you create the other version?

Thanks again for any advice anyone can offer.

·
Registered
461 Posts
Hello Mark,
$15 Dealer part , without it mine flapped at hwy speed , when you change the fuel filter you might be able to find the lost latch , until don't worry about it being in there .

·
Registered
511 Posts
Hi Mark, and welcome!

I'm sure you will love your bike and this forum which is invaluable, especially if you are comfortable with tackling any of the mechanical items.