BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, since I'm relatively new to the game, I learned a little later than most here that the front spring on our beloved steeds is, to put it gently, not really up to the task of supporting the bike's generous weight, as the miles progress. What I've learned, then, is we're left with a saggy front end, and suspension that bottoms out at merely the hint of uneven pavement. From what I've been able to discern, the spring is pretty well clapped-out, while the shock still has plenty of life in it.

Well, you may opine that I consider the purchase of an Ohlins, or a Wilbers set-up for the badly needed front end replacement, and the inner cheapskate in me would reply something to the effect: ".....at $500 to $800 for the unit?? NFW, thanks!" In fact, even the offering of the replacement spring from Hyperpro (SP-BM12-SSN002) at $125 and $50 to ship from the frozen North, is a little off the charts, but not by much.

Oh, yes. My point. Do any of the members have a front spring kicking around the parts bin that they might be able to measure the following:
1. Free height
2. Coil outer diameter
3. Coil inner diameter
4. Wire thickness at the center of the spring
5. AND, if someone has the knowledge or a BMW contact who can indicate the spring rate, it would help me avoid doing some calculating.

What I'm wondering is that there just HAS to be another spring offered out there, for another use, at a much reduced price, that's adaptable to the LT front shock. As an example, MOOG offers a whole catalogue of springs. I just need to match something up. The specs for the LT spring would make it easy to see if the project is do-able or not. So, any help would be appreciated.

Hmmmm, for me, thinking is a dangerous pastime, indeed.

·
Registered
1,300 Posts