BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Changed the front brake pads for the first time on Saturday - thanks to all for your earlier suggestions. I'm a reasonably experienced mechanic but I've had bad experiences working on ABS systems on cars in the past, so I was a little hesitant. But it worked out fine. A few Lessons Learned:

1. I was originally going to pull the front wheel and remove the calipers to replace the pads, but upon reflection (and consulting the RepRom) decided to do it with everything mounted. That was the right decision. This is a ridiculously easy job. If you have half a bit of mechanical ability, and a T-30 male wrench, you can do it. There's virtually no way to screw up and not be able to back out and recover. Took me about a half hour, with most of that time washing parts, drinking coffee, and enjoying the morning sunshine.

2. Lots of choices of front brake pads out there. I decided to use OEM on the recommendation of the dealer based upon suggested life of the pads. I got 44k off the first set. A bit pricy, though - $89/side (not much less at MaxBMW). I'm sure others have different opinions.

3. To remove the pads, you have to back out a screw that holds them in place. The screw (called a "grub" screw) in turn has a little clip that keeps it from backing out accidentally. Be sure to remove this clip before you try to back the screw out! Once you get the grub screw out you remove a spring steel retainer plate. Simple Green and a bit of elbow grease worked fine to clean these up before replacement.

4. The torque for this "grub screw" is not listed in the normal table of torques. I found it finally in the RepRom - 7 Nm. This is probably not a critical torque item as it doesn't hold two things together, it just holds the screw against its stop. So "Gut Enuf" is probably good enough.