BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a HD Ultra Classic, and have been looking at the K1200LT.

Has annyone else made the move from a Harley to BMW, and if so, what was your experience like? Was their any type of learning curve, handling, braking, etc.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
7,795 Posts
I am in my 2nd year of banishment from 38 years HD products...

It has been a great experience, learning the LT. It beats the HD in all areas of performance.. Better fuel economy, reliability, ABS braking... Phenominal!

·
Registered
260 Posts
HD to K1200LT

I just purchased a 2006LT. I have a HD 2004 Roadking Classic with 23000 miles. Purchased new Nov. 2003. Wife and I and five other couples took a 3500 mile trip to Smokies. I rode deals Gap twice on the HD. I thought if I kept pushing it I would crash bad. Poor braking most problems. Love to ride it but, compared to the BMW is like riding a sport bike. Quick good handling etc. I haved had many bikes but the BMW is by far the best I have ever owned. Tim Baton Rouge, LA

·
Registered
5,835 Posts
stefeb said:

Has annyone else made the move from a Harley to BMW, and if so, what was your experience like? Was their any type of learning curve, handling, braking, etc.

Thanks.

yup 18 yrs old till oh heck 2002 i rode HD glides of one form or the other

learning curve? yes, DO not grab the front brake on the lt till ya get used to it! keep the handle bars straight when stopping (front tire straight) it will make it easier NOT to drop it till ya get used to tthe higher COG

Watch your speedo, when i bought my LT a friend asked me what i thought of it over the Harley

I think I told him something like 25 MPh difference

Jinks can correct me if I am wrong <g> He bought a LT not long after........ <grin>

Tom

·
Registered
1,165 Posts