BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To start with, I'm no mechanic and my wife will only let me use a hammer around the house. That said, I have a 2000 K1200LT. The other day I gassed up the bike at a Chevron (premium gas), the bike worked fine for about 45 min. The bike then started hesitating when accelerating, like someone turned the choke on. I had to keep the engine revved up to 2000 rpm at stop lights (being afraid it would die). I limped the bike home. I turned the bike off and let it sit for a couple of minutes. I started it up and took a short drive around the neighborhood. For a few minutes the bike ran like the choke was stuck on, then the bike started running like normal. The next day I took the bike out, and it seemed to be running OK. I came up to a stop light and it died. I popped the clutch and it started right up. I stopped at several other stop lights, and the bike idled fine.
As I said, I'm no mechanic, now I'm leery about taking the bike out too far away from home. Any ideas what may be going on ? This is the first time I've had this type of issue.
Thanks again.....

·
Registered
493 Posts
Could be that the hoses in the tank are leaking. Or a fuel pump issue.
That's where I'd start.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: MBevans

·
Registered
4,340 Posts
Mondrage has the right idea. Sudden poor performance could be fuel related as in the internal rubber lines have sprung a leak or if it i actually missing, possibly the plug wires may be old and arcing to ground causing a miss.