BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 131 Posts

·
Enjoy The Ride
3,981 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My bike is running so bad it starts to foul a new set of plugs in less than 50 miles. the fuel milage has gone from the low 50s mpg to the mid 20s mpg. It had been at the dealer for almost six weeks & they are stumped. I just can't give them a blank check & have them fix it.

The only fault code is the O2 sensor. 2 different sensors have been installed & both still showed a fault code. They also checked the injectors for leakage. They changed the Motronic control unit & Ign. coil. Nothing helped. The way the bike runs its more than just dumping to much fuel. It barley has enough power to get going from a stop light.

I do have have a good Digital Multimeter but I'm not very good with electronics. The mechanical part of the engine (valve lash,compression test & leak down) is the same as it has been for the last 30,000 miles.

If there is any interest in the Charlotte NC area for a tech session I would be more than happy to have one. I have plenty of space & all the tools that would be needed.

Any thoughts: Thanks Dave

·
Enjoy The Ride
3,981 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
mobygrape said:
Engine temperature sensor?
It runs the same hot or cold. It also started out as a intermittent problem but now is a full time problem

·
Registered
313 Posts
Fuel pressure regulator? Too much fuel spraying through the injectors may cause the 02 sensor to be confused.

·
Enjoy The Ride
3,981 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
pushin9s said:
Fuel pressure regulator? Too much fuel spraying through the injectors may cause the 02 sensor to be confused.
When I checked the fuel pressure it was 65 to 80 lbs & that was the first thing I changed. At first first I was sure that was the problem. With the new regulator it is now a steady 50psi.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
14,167 Posts