BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 99 LT and am experiencing electrical confusion.I ride evryday and over the past few weeks this has happened to me three times. I turn my key to on and all my usual lights come on and when i hit my starter button,everything shuts off. The first time , iwaited a few minutes and it started right up. The second time i jumped my bike and rode home and put it on the Battery Tender and it showed "green" in a matter of minutes. Same thing today. What causes a complete "shorting out"of my entire electrical system? I have read about the starter relay causing problems but would it cause my entire electrical system to fail? I am new to BMWs as i have ridden Wings for the past 21 years and i could use some help on this.Thanks

·
Registered
498 Posts
Even though your batter tender says green, you could have a dead cell. If cleaning the connections, like Spenceer mentioned, doesn't work, get a battery.
The reason it is doing this is called the "Load Shed Circuit". The bike is setup to shut off all non-essential electrical loads during start so all available power can be directed to the starter. It sounds like the system is doing it's job, but the battery is tired.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Cochinosucio said:
Even though your batter tender says green, you could have a dead cell. If cleaning the connections, like Spenceer mentioned, doesn't work, get a battery.
The reason it is doing this is called the "Load Shed Circuit". The bike is setup to shut off all non-essential electrical loads during start so all available power can be directed to the starter. It sounds like the system is doing it's job, but the battery is tired.

+1 The battery has probably dropped a cell. It has enough amperage for low load items like lights, but as soon as a larger load is applied, the voltage drops significantly.

·
Registered
71 Posts