BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All - haven't seen this addressed before, so maybe I'm the only one, but I have a problem when it comes to downshifting. Patient is a '99 LTC and I am the original owner. Bike has been overserviced as is typical with us beemer owners. Current mileage is almost 39000.

I do not have any trouble going up thru the gears, but at least half the time, and only when downshifting from 4th or lower, the shifter doesn't want to go. So, I let the clutch out and pull it back in and then it shifts like butah.

Anyone else have this issue? Should I be worried? I don't cram down on the shifter for fear of damaging the linkage, etc, and as I've been employing this method for the last 10 years, everything still seems to work just fine. Maybe I'm just over-thinking things....

·
Premium Member
7,677 Posts
Harmonyman said:
All - haven't seen this addressed before, so maybe I'm the only one, but I have a problem when it comes to downshifting. Patient is a '99 LTC and I am the original owner. Bike has been overserviced as is typical with us beemer owners. Current mileage is almost 39000.

I do not have any trouble going up thru the gears, but at least half the time, and only when downshifting from 4th or lower, the shifter doesn't want to go. So, I let the clutch out and pull it back in and then it shifts like butah.

Anyone else have this issue? Should I be worried? I don't cram down on the shifter for fear of damaging the linkage, etc, and as I've been employing this method for the last 10 years, everything still seems to work just fine. Maybe I'm just over-thinking things....
I haven't had problems downshifting my LT, but I do blip the throttle on downshifts to help match the engine speed to the lower gear and save wear on the clutch when it is re-engaged.

·
Registered
675 Posts