BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm new to the K1200LT so I'm not sure what I've done. I've been doing a number of repairs and maintenance since I bought the bike a few weeks ago and now it won't start. :(

I did a couple of bad things. I had removed the fuel tank to change the fuel filter and air filter, put it back on, then tried to start it before I put the fuel back in. Duh. I also went to disconnect the battery charger, the positive lead slipped and shorted to the frame and sparks flew. And, I changed the spark plugs and had trouble getting the #4 wire to snap back on. Possibly loose?

I posted a short video of me trying to start it now and the noises it makes. Anyone recognize these noises? Any clues what I should check?

http://youtu.be/TGQo3CkGVDY

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
14,549 Posts
Does not sound normal. You said the lead hit the frame and sparks flew. Do you mean the charger lead or have you removed leads from the battery?

The sound makes me think the starter sprage is not engaging but it is hard to tell from the video. I don't under stand the noise I hear after you release the starter button. It seems to remain until you turn off the key.

What other maintenance items have you done? Don't fret to bad as I am sure we can sort this out for you. Oh it is this a 1999 to early 2001?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wow, thanks for the fast response!

The charger lead shorted the battery positive to the frame. Battery was connected.

Since the last time I started it, I replaced the steering damper, removed the front brake calipers to clean off rust and replace the pads. Not reassembled yet, waiting for parts. Ran a new power lead to the unswitched power input to the stereo, works perfectly now. Repaired broken speed sensor cable on final drive.

Charger says the battery is fully charged too.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
14,549 Posts