BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I am going to purchase my first BMW motorcycle this weekend and it is going to be a new 2011 R1200RT. Although I have been riding motorcycles for over 37 years this is going to be my first BMW. I can't wait. Thanks to the generousity of my local BMW dealer I was able to spend the entire weekend on a demo R1200RT. Man I am hooked. That bike simply rocks. Plus I look good on that bike. HA HA.

The only question now is what color. Do I go with the gorgeous Thunder Grey or do I go with the tri-colored version which is just as nice. Any suggestions or recommendations.

·
Registered
98 Posts
The tri-colored is faster and better.
I bought a 2011 tri-colored in Dec.
I really like the combination.
Have had a lot of positive comments on it.

·
Registered
472 Posts
Which shade of grey should you get? You can't go wrong, but I prefer Thunder Grey to the zebra. Then, of course, there's Ostra Grey. Do you prefer matte or shiny? If you wait for the 2012 model there may be a new shade of grey.

I say pick the grey!

·
Registered
195 Posts
Yes I had the same dilema, went for plain Thunder. The 3 colour is nice but you pay for it and I wonder whether it is 'too nice ' for the RT. In RT world understated is good me thinks. Its actually just transfers and you might be better off spending the money on other goodies.

Kev

·
Registered
40 Posts
I also went Thunder grey, I first thought the tri-color was cool but in reality the Thunder Grey IMHO is classier and no doubt much much faster....better aerodynamics without the extra decals!

·
Registered
57 Posts
I went with the thunder gray as well. Couldn't see spending an extra $$$ for decals.

·
Premium Member
693 Posts