BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,801 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know much about the RT line, but an older RT-P I'm looking at doesn't have cruise control. I think none of them did before a certain year - '05, maybe?

For owners of older RTs, what do you do for a cruise control solution? I'd prefer something factory/stock, but a quality after-market product would be OK, too. It does have some kind of bar-end throtte lock, but I have no experience with that and it doesn't seem as user-friendly and useful as an electronic CC.

·
Premium Member
1,414 Posts
All I can do for relief on my '85 RT is use a Throttle Rocker / Cramp Buster. I'd also be interested in being able to remove my hand from the throttle for a while.

Jeer

·
Premium Member
533 Posts
The Throttlemeister actually works well and is relatively inexpensive. See the link:

http://throttlemeister.com/seeitwork.html

I added one of these to my 2010RT even though I have the electronic cruise control. There are times when I want to be able to chang my grip or let go for a minute without the throttle going to idle but the road conditions are not right to us the electronic cruise.

Regards,

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts
K1200 BMW's in the vintage 2002-onward (?) had CC...

That being said... CC for R bikes was much more complex and not factory available until 2005.
Throttlemeister devices certainly work and are an inexpensive add-on. I have had several bikes with them. They are awkward at first but soon become handy. I never got all that comfy with them. My 955i Triumph has one. I never use it. I think were you ride is a big part of it. Here in Canyon country it is not used as much. Long flatland would be different.