BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum. I have been riding streetbikes since 1997. From 1997 until 2009, I rode solely Japanese cruiser & sport bikes (Hondas & Kawasakis). In January 2009, I purchased my first BMW, a 2008 F800ST. More than 2 years and 22,000 miles later, I have fell in love with the BMW Motorrad brand and sport-touring. With my F800ST, I am finding that I ride more now than I have ever done in the past. My commute to work is 27 miles each way and I also frequently make 75-100 mile jaunts from where I live up to San Francisco or other locations here in the Bay Area. While I frequently ride on freeways, I also love to hit the twisty backroads of the Santa Cruz mountains...some of the best riding roads in the country, if not the world!

With all of the time I have spent on my F800ST, I am finding that while I love my bike, there are various features that my ST doesn't have that I would love to have:
-Cruise Control (real cruise, not Throttlemeister)
-Better Wind/Weather protection
-Improved safety (Better ABS, Traction/Stability Control, Linked Brakes, etc.)

Yesterday, I brought my ST into my local dealer (BMW of Santa Cruz) to get its 3rd set of tires installed. While there, I decided to take a 2011 R1200RT for a test ride. An hour later, I arrived back at the dealer with a big grin on my face. I was blown away by the ride quality, comfort and convenience on the RT. During my extended test ride, I evaluated freeway riding, mountain backroad riding, CQM and parking. The single feature the blew me away the most was the electrically adjustable windscreen. Wow! What a difference that makes! I have grown tired of wind noise and neck pains from my head/helmet being blown around on my ST...not an issue on the RT!