BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
2005 K1200LT
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have any ideas or recommendations on how to clean the black off the exhaust pipe?

Thanks,

Doug

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hello Doug
This is toooo scary. I was just going to ask this very question when I logged on and also couldnt quite figure out why BMW has the exhaust pointed downwards Vs. straight out as well. All I could think was that maybe the back draft of exhaust fumes would come back on the passenger. I have an 05 and didnt know if this was standard since I am relatively new to this great riding bike, not to mention excellent forum. I learn something new every time I log on this website and hope to get this answered as well.

Bill

·
Registered
23 Posts
Chrome polish and a little time (& elbow grease) will get all the black off. Doesn't last that long, but for a while, it is shiny and pretty!!

·
Registered
426 Posts
Very fine steel wool works wonders on pipes .

·
Premium Member
1,414 Posts
I used 409 on the plastic to get the bugs off and on the tail of the exaust to get the soot off. Worked REAL well.

Jer

·
2005 K1200LT
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
After I had posted my query, I noticed in an earlier thread someone mentioned using WD-40. Any thoughts there?

Doug

·
Premium Member
1,414 Posts
blkhwk34 said:
After I had posted my query, I noticed in an earlier thread someone mentioned using WD-40. Any thoughts there?

Doug
I've found that WD-40 (which does almost anything you want it to do) leaves a residue. I've used it on really old chrome drum rims and works really well, but I do have to keep going over and over them to eventually get all the film off. YMMV. Try some on a spot under the exaust. There's plenty of surface area there that isn't normally visable.

Jer

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
14,171 Posts