BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody; this is my first thread.

I have the option to purchase an '85 K100RS or an '85 K100RT.

The RT has 13K miles and the RS has 20K miles. The are both the exact, great condition, and they are both the exact same price. The RT is more set-up for touring; it has the original saddle-bags and a back rest (with luggage rack).

The RS is pretty bare without bags or a backrest.

I would like this to be a commuting machine (about 50 miles each way), with once in a while touring.

I can't decide on which one to get. I've lots of experience with a '85 RT and I enjoy the wind protection, but in hot Southern-California my legs bake in triple digit weather, making it sometimes near unbearable. Will the RS be much better (cooler)?

I really prefer the sporty posture (and sporty look) of the RS but my girlfriend (who is tiny, like 4'11") will be riding a lot, and I don't know how comfortable it'll be for long distance with her holding on to me. Do any of you guys have experience riding 2-up on a RS versus a RT?

Also, with the RS I'd like to either buy bags, or a large top case (that would solve the backrest, and storage differences). Is it much better just to buy a bike with original bags?

Lastly, I'm 6'1" and I hear you have to battle the wind a lot with the RS. I have no issues with the RT; will it be a tremendous change on the RS?

Thank you for your help.

·
Premium Member
1,178 Posts
I have the RT and for 2-up it was comfortable. I have not ridden the RS so can't give you a comparison that way.

·
BMW Guru
8,469 Posts
I'd buy the RT. Bags and comfort, easy decision for me. Of course it's your money:)

·
Registered
55 Posts