BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 03 1200lt and cant get starter to work.I researched on here and reprogrammed fob etc. because battery was dead.Fuel pump comes on and when you hit button led on bars comes on.I'm new to this bike so i have no idea what alot of stuff is for.Could it be the alarm system itself ? Thanks in advance for any help.Rich

·
Premium Member
812 Posts
Hi and welcome.

Might be a good idea to finish filling out your profile. Someone close could possibly help you out.

I'm assuming you've checked the simple stuff.

Battery fully charged and clean connections,

Side stand UP!

The red lever(emergency stop) ontop of the right handlebar is in the center position

I always start in neutral first thing of a morning, so is your neutral light on on the dash?

If that doesn't help, then you have another problem somewhere. :bmw:

·
Premium Member
3,549 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've double checked and gone over everything and nothing.I was able to get starter to turn engine over with my battery charger hooking it up to insulated post.But i didnt have power to rest of bike as battery is dead.Have a new one coming but until then i want to get it running or at least fire up.Would the alarm system be bad ? I dont want to start hacking wires if i dont have to.FYI this bike was sitting for 2 yrs. so i dont know if that would matter to battery in alarm system ?

·
Premium Member
4,886 Posts
vernvernvern said:
Hi and welcome.

Might be a good idea to finish filling out your profile. Someone close could possibly help you out.
+1

Glad you found us.

·
Registered
683 Posts
richierichr1 said: