BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4,404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
What are the longest lasting brake pads for the K1200LT?

Last set lasted about 12K miles. If I recall correctly, they were EBC HH pads.

More than once I found my rear brake pads down to the metal. Ouch!, that's hard on the rotor.

Any suggestions for rear brake pads that have high mileage?

Running low mileage tires, looking for high mileage brakes. :histerica

BTW: plug for Beemer Bone Yard. I've been buying my KLT stuff from them for a few years. Good outfit, quick order filling, quick shipping. Beemer Bone Yard :thumb:
Disclaimer, don't know 'em, just buy stuff there.

·
Registered
242 Posts
BTW: plug for Beemer Bone Yard. I've been buying my KLT stuff from them for a few years. Good outfit, quick order filling, quick shipping. Beemer Bone Yard :thumb:
Disclaimer, don't know 'em, just buy stuff there.
Not to derail the topic, but I have ordered from them recently for my clutch and the 24K service kit. Great service from them, 2 thumbs up.:dance:

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Try Ferodo's, work for me for years. hard to find, but the best brakes Ive used.
Tried EBC, Carbone Lorraine, BMW. Ferodo's still the best overall pads Ive used in all my bikes since the early 90's. KAW, YAM, BMW

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
13,940 Posts
Gee Curtis I still have the stock original pads up front at 90 K and they still have a lot of life left in them. For the rear I am running EBC rotor and EBC sintered pads, but before that I went through two stock rotors (had an extra) and three sets of stock pads. I have 40 K on the EBC.

·
Registered
710 Posts