BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I'm fairly new to K1200LT ownership. I live in the UK and own a Honda Blackbird, a Honda CBX1000 and a Honda Pan European 1100.
So, mainly Hondas.
My LT is a 2001 model with 25000 miles on it. When I bought it, the ABS light and brake failure lights where flashing alternatively. I was told that the battery on the bike was not the correct one and this was causing the lights to flash due to not enough power coming from the battery.
I have used the bike a few times to get to work, not yet changed the battery. The brake failure and ABS lights then began to flash very quickly and I lost servo assistance, making braking somewhat interesting, or non existant depending on how you look at it.
I pulled over, switched off, switched on again and had brakes again, though the brake warning lights where flashing very quickly.
I got it ome, turned it off and left it for a day or two. When I came to ride it again, I had the alternate abs and brake failure lights then after a few more miles I had the quick flashing abs and brake failure lights and no brakes again, until I switched off.
Help. I have no idea where to start, well the battery but then after that, I have no idea. Is this common?

·
Registered
729 Posts
Per the manual it indicates the brake fluid is low if it alternates once per second.
Flashing 4per second indicates the brake fluids is too low (they added too in there)

Look for leaks, check your pad wear. If that's good top off the fluid level, search for the procedure, mine is different then yours so I can't help there.
Might be a good time to do a fluid flush if that wasn't recently done.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3