BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the BMW community, just bought an 09 LT 3 weeks ago. But after reading all the post on here Im wondering if I should of stuck with HD. At the top of this page it says JUST RIDE IT, but it should say RIDE IT WHEN YOUR NOT WORKING ON IT.
I have always heard how dependable BMW's are. Have I been misled???

·
Premium Member
4,883 Posts
Doug, WELCOME..... Just take a deep breath and enjoy a very dependable ride. Most of us ride for years without having to make a major repair. The ones you hear about are a very small % and I'll bet that a major % of them are those who are constantly modifying their bike.

I'm sure that there are exceptions, but as an example, my 02 has had 48,000 trouble free miles. (except today a heated handgrip malfunctioning!)

All mechanical things eventually break and require maintenance. THis bike has given me nothing but pleasure and is as dependable as any other bike I've owned. Of course, my facts are anecdotal...

·
Registered
349 Posts
Every owners' forum is full of repair threads; that's the nature of these forums. You post when you need help, not to say, "Hey, everything is perfect!" I don't have personal long-term experience with BMW, as I recently bought my first one. However a big part of that decision was based on owners who enthusiastically say they love theirs and have put on huge miles without issues.

·
Registered
260 Posts
No, you have not been mislead. I came from a 04 RoadKing to my 06 LT. I have just a little over 47,000 miles on the LT and have never had any trouble .I just change fluids and tires and use it just for touring. Relax and enjoy your LT. :dance:

·
Registered
4,241 Posts