BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Fishing for feedback on bar risers and peg lowering kit for my 2010. What has your experience been?

·
Registered
127 Posts
flienlow said:
Fishing for feedback on bar risers and peg lowering kit for my 2010. What has your experience been?
Interestingly enough, a custom seat (truly a custom seat -- discussing my objectives before making the seat) eliminated my desire for bar risers, or a peg lowering kit. I haven't thought about either since receiving my custom seat from Bill Mayer Saddles.

·
Registered
287 Posts
I've been researching bar risers for my 2010 RT, and here's my summary by vendor including cost and change in handlebar position. From what I've seen from other postings, many of these bar risers work fine.
ps.
Some of these data/costs may be old from 2010 when I started compiling this list.

Wunderlich $119
- 25mm taller (0.984”).

Ilium $89.95
- Up .898" and back 1.032" for a total diagonal movement of 1.375". Stresses brake line.
- Part #11-600 ($149.95) bar backs for 2010-11 include extended front brake line and mounting manifold.

Suburban Machinery $99.95
- Net change .894” up, .447” back. No change to brake line.

Moto-Techniques $69.95
Moves bars up & back diagonally ~1" to unload weight from wrists & forearms and relax the neck. Uses stock control cables and requires no modifications. New bolts are supplied.

Vario Handlebar risers $235
- Allows a wide range of adjustment: The base position has the handlebars 30 mm (1.18”) higher than standard. Then the step-less adjustment allows them to be moved back toward the rider by up to 20 mm (0.78”). Additionally, each handle bar can be moved outwards by up to 25 mm (1”) from standard. This results in massive 50 mm (2”) overall increase in handlebar width for a true “touring” feeling.

Heli Bars $119
- Raise them 1" (25mm) and move them towards the rider 1" (25mm).

Touratech $129