BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
513 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well Hello ALL!

I am a 1st day Newbie with my "new" 2002 LT.

i am also having an 'issue'

i read about reverse and after experimenting i have it figured out. here's the kicker. i'm overweight (6' and 280). 30" inseam.

i'm laying it down when i try turning it and backing it up (in garage-no damage except to my ego and knee once.

how do you prevent laying it over (and it takes my wife and me to lift it.) i'd hate to think what i'm going to do when i am on the road and stopped and this happens.

so i'm being proactive! walking it backwards on level or downward sloped ground must be a talent i don't currently have.

assistance requesated of all you experienced guys/gals!

thanks

My Camel (Mike Hammel)

·
Registered
1999 LTC
14,460 Posts
Hi, Mike - welcome to the site.

I'm prolly reading your post wrong, so lemme ax how you're reversing the LT. Are you in the saddle, with both feet touching ground? And ground is a good surface for boot grip?

There may be some folks who are successful in reversing the LT by walking along side it - not me; I'm always in the saddle while reversing. May require baby steps in some situations, but usually a smooth dance up a sloping driveway into my garage. Hope you are able to conquer this feature, Mike. Good luck.

·
Premium Member
7,850 Posts
mycamel said:
Well Hello ALL!

I am a 1st day Newbie with my "new" 2002 LT.

i am also having an 'issue'

i read about reverse and after experimenting i have it figured out. here's the kicker. i'm overweight (6' and 280). 30" inseam.

i'm laying it down when i try turning it and backing it up (in garage-no damage except to my ego and knee once.

how do you prevent laying it over (and it takes my wife and me to lift it.) i'd hate to think what i'm going to do when i am on the road and stopped and this happens.