BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
498 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sometimes it takes an "incident" to remind us of how quickly things can, and sometimes do, go "bad".

I recently had my reminder... and that is why I am a fervent believer in ALL THE GEAR, ALL THE TIME

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
Glad you came through that one with nothing more than a few bumps and bruises. I have been ATGATT since I started riding in '06. I see all ages riding with no protective gear, in some states no helmet. I don't get it, but I guess it ain't for me to get! It doesn't look "cool" to ride in all the gear. It definitely isn't cool at 95 degrees, but I can sweat a lot easier than I can bleed.

·
Registered
929 Posts
Hey Lawrence glad to hear you are okay. When I worked for the KHP I saw what happens to the flesh when pavement grinds away at it...that's why I wear my gear and make my wife wear hers.

·
Registered
453 Posts
Glad to hear that you are relatively uninjured.

My father always thought me that rain after a number of days of dry weather was dangerous. He believed that the rain would loosen the oil and other muck from the road. I guess he was right.

I have believed in safety kit after seeing a TV programme called "Sorry Mate I did not see you!" It described the effects of asphalt on the human body. "Just like placing a power sander on the joints and wearing the joint away." That convinced me to wear a minimum of Jacket, gloves & boots (helmets are law in Europe!) Since coming to Belgium I have added trousers to the list. it does not matter, if the trip is round the corner or a 1000 miles, I wear the kit and so do the kids if the want to ride with me.

·
Registered
545 Posts