BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While I am just getting into LT maintenance, it looks to me like the centerstand pivots could be drilled & tapped for grease fittings pretty easily.
This would make subsequent greasings pretty easy.
A good while back, I had Yamaha venture royales, & it was common to install grease fittings on the rear suspension on them, to make annual maintenance much easier.
It seems a real bear to get my bike up on the stand. So, I'll be pulling my centerstand down to lube it, & the design looks like fittings will work.
Has anyone done/tried it?

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
14,254 Posts
I was given some small needle, drive in, type fittings that would work really well but I never installed them. There is not enough clearance for typical zerk fittings. Plus they are sealed with o-rings and it would be hard to push old grease out past them.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
14,254 Posts
WD-40 works just fine for me. Never had a problem with my manual centre stand on my '03
If spraying WD-40 helps it move easier then your o-ring are gone.

·
Registered
32 Posts
It seems a real bear to get my bike up on the stand.
When I first brought my LT home, i started doing the routine maintenance on it. Mine was extremely difficult to put up on the center stand. It took 2 men and a little kid to do it. While looking over Kurt's videos on YouTube, I came across one on servicing the hydraulic rear shock. After I did this procedure, mine now goes up on the stand with very little effort. That;'s been a year ago and it still works fantastic. Might be worth a try before drilling into the stand.

·
Registered
181 Posts
No, I didn't do it and I wish I thought of it last year when took it off to cut is shorter, to match the lower suspension.
For that mater, I had problems removing the flat head screw that is from inside out,(2008 RT) and had to drill it out.