BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody fitted a quickshifter to a RT1200? Is it possible, I know I'm new to BMW's AND i'm being told to ride one for 500 mls to get used to it, but i'm finding the upshifts on 1-3 with the clutch very clumsy and slow, plus I find it upsets the bike when I let the clutch out 4,5,and 6 hitting the revs right and NO clutch the shifts are faultless, is it me or am I riding like a d##k. Is it the nature of the beast? I'm MORE than happy to be advised on the best way to ride these thing's. BTW I've STOPPED blipping the throttle on the downshifts and using the engine to slow me down (Ive seen pictures of a clutch change) like I did on the Harley, everything else considered I'M LOVING IT!!!!

·
Registered
350 Posts
Interesting. I've got no issues with shifting, other than my piss-poor body positioning which is taking some getting used to. I'm still blipping my downshifts, but that's 36 years of muscle memory there.

Is rev-matching downshifts bad for the dry clutch?

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts
I have no issues either... and I have been known to ride her pretty hard.

I do down shift more or less regularly so the only thing I would say on that is for you to ride it like you are comfortable and not worry about the clutch.

As for your question, I am not aware of a speed shifter or short shifter...

One thing I will suggest is that you learn how to pre-load the shifter... it does seem to make them smoother and maybe faster too. Pre-loading the shifter means to just apply a small amount of pressure with your toe (either going Up pr Down- shifts) and then when you pull the clutch- it just slips in, like butter.

What I assume is happening is that the preload takes any slack in the shift-train out and makes it go ...

It might be helpful to hear what you are riding too... 1100/1150/1200 RT. R. S, RS etc... and year and miles on it.

·
Registered
33 Posts