BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
My first post, just been lurking and absorbing data while shopping for a used LT.
I am looking at 2 bikes both in similar (good to excellent) condition. Both priced the same and about what I want to spend. 03 has 48k, salvage title due to theft recovery, bought in Germany and driven all over Europe and I assume, serviced there, but no records. 00 has 68k clean title and known local dealer service history. I am a mechanic and am not worried too much about the inherent mechanical issues but rather any improvements, design features or options not available on the 2000 that were added in 03 that I may want later.
Thanks to all who have pioneered problem solving which has already made my experience easier. Any information or opinions about these bikes would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
426 Posts
The 03 LT has updated final drive bearing that have few failures compared to 99 through 02 models. Also starting with 02 models the brakes are servo assist abs . Those are main two differences. Good luck with your shopping and purchase.

·
Premium Member
3,549 Posts
This thread should give you relevant information:
http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63818&highlight=2000+models

I fouund it by searching with "2000 models"

aA big differance between those years is the braking system. The 03 has the front and rear brakes linked while the 00's brakes are not linked.

If you scan through the site you will find a few LTs with over 100K.

Both of those bikes should have had the stock shocks replaced. The one with 68K might be on it;s second set?

I mention the shocks because replacing them can easily go over $1000 touching $1500 some times.

If you get on her hard in 5th gear that will give you a pretty good idea if the clutch is slipping.

With both of those bikes the stock low beam totally inadequate.