BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just figured the other thread team it's course.
I don't have gs911 so I can't park the stepper motors (whatever they are)
My question is can a decent tbs be done without gs9/11

·
Registered
73 Posts
twincruise said:
Can a decent tbs be done without doing anything to the stepper motors?
I'm new to BMWs ... so beware ...

I believe the stepper motors are for idle only. When you twist your throttle to anything above idle RPM the cables pull the throttle linkage off of the stepper motors and then they become insignificant. But you can adjust the cables for an even idle vacuum. I wouldn't worry too much if there is a little imbalance at idle, it's no biggie. What you want is close balance at 2000 rpm.

I think I remember reading somewhere that when you turn the ignition ON you should wait 10 to 15 seconds for the red triangle and then the yellow triangle lights to go out before engaging the starter. I THINK someone said this has to do with the stepper motors getting in sync with each other. Can someone more knowledgeable than me give some input on this as it is related to the OP's question.

Norm

·
Registered
2,128 Posts
You are suppose to wait for the red triangle to extinguish before hitting the starter, part of the throttlebody to computer sync thing. I thought the dealer told me to wait for the amber to go out as well but folks here told me I didn't need to wait on the amber.

I would not think the stepper motors would come into play once the bike is off idle and since the TBS is done at 2k rpm, I don't see a problem.