BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I see that you can get headers without the cat. I presume you will need to do something with the ECU. Does anyone offer a flash for the 2021 RT? or are there other options?

Craig

·
Registered
14 Posts
"When I go, I want to go like dear old grandpa...asleep at the wheel with everyone else in the car screaming!!"

Your tag line... A bit scary for the rest of us don't you think!

My family meets every year at my Birthday party, I am 76, and they vote on "When do we take Dads motorcycle keys away." At first thought is was cute, now its no longer funny.
They don't know I have an extra set of keys.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have been using that signature for the last 10 years. I have received a few comments...and your is the first negative one. It just amazes me how people think that they can say what ever, when ever, where ever, and to whom ever they want.

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
Why do you want to get rid of the cat, on modern engines the exhaust is tuned to extract exhaust gases and changing the exhaust may actually reduce power slightly, modern engines produce a lot of power because the intake, exhaust, valving and the shape of the top of the piston are all engineered to work together efficiently.
They keep increasing power and mpg keeps going up at the same time simply because of efficiency at extracting energy from fuel.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Sorry, I didn't mean to upset you. You are right. I will keep my comments strictly about RT's on this discussion board. I glean a lot of value off this site.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Not much help to you right now but I have a full Akro system waiting to be fitted by my dealer before my bike is delivered to me. The consensus seems to be that the most recent ECU can adjust well enough to handle the more free flowing nature of the exhaust and produce a minor improvement in power / torque.