BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First a big thank you to those who have replied to my past newbie posts looking for help!
This weekend I finished stripping the bike. All of the plastic,both shocks,and the front fork lower tubes are off.
I've changed the air filter, fuel filter , fuel quick disconnects, and put in a set of new spark plugs.
Taking it apart has been relatively easy, the hard part will be putting it back together correctly.
I do need some advice on a couple of issues.
I've read the articles on how to change the fork seal by just dropping the lowers and that is what I am going to attempt. Are there any aftermarket seal kits available for the LT, or is the dealer the best place to go?
What are the best "speed bleeders " to buy for doing the brakes and clutch? I have never used them before and have absolutely no idea what to buy or where. (I am also very leery about doing the brakes, but if I mess them up totally, I'll trailer it to the dealership and sign over my firstborn to them to repair it.lol)
Although I've grown to love this bike in the short time I have owned it, I am amazed at the amount of disassembly required to do a simple air filter change!
Thanks in advance for your help guys. So far any questions I have asked have been answered with a lot of great advice. Without this site as a resource , I wouldn't even attempt a teardown of this magnitude.
Wish me luck!

·
Registered
2,176 Posts
I ordered speed bleeder (believe that to be the brand name), but ended up getting the brakes bled without them, and it was very easily done.
Reason I answered your post was to ask if you have, or have considered, doing the stainless steele brake line upgrade while you're in there.
I did mine, and as most will tell you, noticeably fine improvement.

·
Registered
3,137 Posts
Speed Bleeders are the way to go in my opinion! For both brake and clutch! You can order them over the Web right here: