BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 114 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,623 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at a ride tale so bear with me. :smile:

My wife and I on our LT are on a roughly month long tour of the US, primarily the west since we live in PA and see the east and south fairly often. My sister and brother-in-law are joining us for the first week and then have to head back to their jobs. Being retired is nice.

Day 1: Home to Sarnia, Ontario

A fairly uneventful day. Left in cool temps of 40-42 for the first couple hours. Warmed to low 60s as we crossed the Peace Bridge. Somewhat busy at the border given the holiday travelers, but we got through in less than 30 minutes. A fairly boring ride across Ontario to Sarnia where we spent the night. The roads here are in fantastic shape, but many long boring straight stretches that my LT really hates. A few more days of this ahead though!

We had planned to take the SS Badger across Lake Michigan, but saw the note about bringing your own tie downs. Who has room for those on a 30 day trip? Called to see if there was any alternative and they said no. So ... we are now routing down through Chicago. Oh well, I can't believe a ferry that doesn't provide tie downs. This is a first and we have ridden many ferries in the US, Canada and Europe!

·
Registered
6,285 Posts
On my ferry crossings (only a few) I've found that ONE ratcheting type is more than adequate to keep the LT in place. I put it on the side stand and loop the strap over the frame under the driver's seat. You may need to use a jacket or similar as a pad to keep from scuffing the tupperware. I also put a velcro strap around the front brake lever as a little extra security. A while back there was a product called the Strong Back - which was very heavy duty frame that straddled the frame and utilized 4 tie downs. Bulletproof but awkward to carry on tour.