BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I found a low-miles (13,000) 2012 RT locally and since I have no experience with this year/model, asking for advice for what to look for when I see it tomorrow (Tuesday).

Second owner, Corbin seat, looks very clean. Owner is selling because of back issues and the bike was originally purchased by a friend of his, so it's been "in the family" the entire time.

I have no experience with this engine/year and model, so would appreciate any cautions, words of wisdom from other forum members.

I'm coming from a K1600 GTL, so I know it's not going to be as smooth as my K bike.

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
60 Posts
I've only owned my 2013 RT
(essentially the same bike) for a couple of years and 8,000 commuting miles so I may be a newbie compared to some, but I have had virtually no issues except for having to replace the clutch switch when the bike would not start in gear with the clutch engaged. Expensive switch, but you are already a BMW owner so you know what to expect for parts costs. I demo rode a K1600 GT at the Long Beach motorcycle show a few years ago, and thought at the time it did not have as much low en torque as my Tiger Explorer triple I had at the time. Short ride, no real conclusions. I'm sure you will find the RT a lot lighter than the GTL. Also, you will note the torque twist if you rev it at a standstill. Amusing, but you get used to it.

The 2010-2013 RT's are the last of the air/oil cooled models, so a little less maintenance without the radiator. Go enjoy!

·
Registered
251 Posts