BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
533 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
With all the comments about the servo brakes on earlier RTs being touchy they must really be aweful since there are so many comments. I've been riding my 2010RT for 6 months and I still can't get used to the front brake! At slow speed that brake is deadly and could very easily drop me on the ground if I don't pay attention. At speed it isn't a problem but in parking lots, stopping at stop signs, pulling into my carport, etc. I've gotten to where is release the front brake and just use the rear to avoid the possibility of it dumping me.

My 24 year old HD's brakes are non existant by comparison. Is a super agressive front brake on the 2010RT normal or does mine need looking at? Again, at speed it isn't a problem but it really grabs at walking speed.

Regards,

·
Registered
2 Posts
Steve, I upgraded from an '04 RT (with servos) to an '09 last fall and I did notice touchy front brakes on the newer RT. The '04 servo brakes are fully linked and I found the rear pedal to be very touchy - almost an on/off experience - so I avoided the rear brake at low speed. Like you I now use the rear brake more for slow speed maneuvers on my '09. I sure do appreciate the RT brakes when I'm at speed, though, touchy or not!

Bottom line is that I got used to the brakes on both bikes after a while - I prefer the '09 but the servo version worked fine for me while I had it.

(BTW I like your avatar (diving photo) - I'm a diver myself. It's a different world down there.)

·
Registered
492 Posts
cessna said: