BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I am new to BMW motorcycles but drive BMW cars. I anticipate buying the new model 1600 LT with the concept 6 next year when it arrives. In the meantime I am wondering if I buy a 2009 K1200 LT now for Just under the 19K mark will it hold reasonable value. Having no experience in reselling BMW bikes I thought I might inquire with you folks. Thanks for any assistance.

Regards BJ

·
Registered
656 Posts
Expect to take a bath

its far worse trying to sell on the street sadly these bikes have or hold no value

2009 BMW K1200LT ABS Value

KBB lists the bike at 12,700 for trade in on an 09

·
Registered
96 Posts
Just a thought...

There are a few differences over the years between 1999 and 2009. I bought a well cared for 2000 model with 30K two years ago for $7500. These bikes are fairly numerous in the Phoenix area. I see several listings on craigslist for the same vintage (+/-) $6000-$8000 for pre 2005 bikes.

You might consider going back a few years. Ride it for a while. Trade in or sell. Not a lot of risk.

Personally, I’ll keep mine till the wheels fall off or I can’t ride anymore.

Good luck!

Kimble
Phoenix, AZ

·
Registered
40 Posts
Speaking of powered center stand - can a pre-2004 LT be retrofitted to take a powered center stand? - Just a thought? On your potential used purchase - search high-search low as there are a bunch out there at all kinds of price points (some folks just don't understand you can't put a price on luv!) and one issue I kinda learned the hard way Maintenance Records has the requisite services tasks been completed (my service guy just smiles every-time I ask about a service that will require removal of all that pretty plastic!)

Enjoy - ride safe!

Bill

·
Registered
407 Posts
bjgolf54 said:
Hi