BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 2005 RT that I bought a few months ago now has 3300 miles.
I changed the oil when I got it at 2000 miles.
When I changed the oil, I filled it to the centre of the circle.
In the last 1300 miles, it has dropped down to the bottom of the circle.
Is that amount of oil consumption normal for 1300 miles of riding?

·
Registered
67 Posts
I'm no expert, but with the low mileage on your bike, I'd say that amount of consumption is not unusual. The motor is a long way from being broken in. My 05 used oil until about 28,000 miles, when it stopped using entirely. My advice is to keep the oil from getting low and ride it hard. I believe the oil usage will decrease in another 10-15K miles or so.

Just my thoughts...

·
Registered
The Villages, FL
2,601 Posts
Hopefully you did not put in synthetic oil. This will make it worst until the motor is broken in. I would ride the heck out of it. You should see the consumption go down by 8k miles.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
mtrevelino said:
Hopefully you did not put in synthetic oil. This will make it worst until the motor is broken in. I would ride the heck out of it. You should see the consumption go down by 8k miles.
Using 20W 50 mineral as stated by the manual, so not doing anything wrong.
As long as the consumption is normal, thats ok then!

·
Registered
127 Posts
corrcullen said:
My 2005 RT that I bought a few months ago now has 3300 miles.
I changed the oil when I got it at 2000 miles.
When I changed the oil, I filled it to the centre of the circle.
In the last 1300 miles, it has dropped down to the bottom of the circle.
Is that amount of oil consumption normal for 1300 miles of riding?