BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, i'm new to riding and am looking for advice on what bike to get as a first bike that I would like to commute to work and back with. I'm a relatively big guy at 6'2", 240 lbs and live in central Texas and the only other experience riding my friend's Honda cbr 300 which from the time i spent with it seemed very small and manageable. I've been looking into the BMW R series in general and really enjoy the features of the R and RT models. With that being said I am open to other ideas and bike recommendations. The reasons I like BMW R series is due to my height and how I've sat on the bike, mind you i've never rode one. I also like the concept of the final drive system versus a chain or belt, I also currently own a BMW car (not that i've a fan boy), but I have bought several BMW specialty tools that I believe would work with general maintenance of the motorcycle but i'm sure they'd work for most bikes. I also like the idea of long rides and like how these BMW tourer have bigger gas tanks. I also enjoy the concept of a center stand, hand warms, adjustable window shield and many other creature comforts that come with most BMW bikes. Currently I see many early mid 2000's BMW R series bike going for sale around the 3k price range or less and was wondering what input y'all might have about getting one as a beginner bike.

Note: I also have looked at older R series bikes such as the r850r, r1100r, r1100rt, r1150r, and r1150rt but due to age or lack of availability have shunned away from the idea.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the motorcycle riding community,