BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just noticed that the low beam is out on my headlamp. I am now riding on the high beam(to remain legal) and two PIAAS mounted on the fairing aside the front forks.

I have spent some time on the WEB looking for an upgrade headlamp but cannot seem to locate one. Anybody got a suggestion for a higher power than stock lamp or know what type lamp it is eg, J, H K?

·
Registered
439 Posts
theverns said:
I just noticed that the low beam is out on my headlamp. I am now riding on the high beam(to remain legal) and two PIAAS mounted on the fairing aside the front forks.

I have spent some time on the WEB looking for an upgrade headlamp but cannot seem to locate one. Anybody got a suggestion for a higher power than stock lamp or know what type lamp it is eg, J, H K?
I have put the CQlight H7 5K in my 02 and it turns night into day.
I have been using it for 2 years now with no problems.

http://www.cqlight.ca

Also search the forums lots of LT GT have upgraded to HIDs

·
Registered
4,404 Posts
HID conversion of the low beam was/is the standard upgrade to improve LT lighting. Lots of info in here. The kits and suppliers have changed since I did my 2000. I am sure it has gotten easier, as in those days we had to modifiy things a bit. Today I'm pretty sure there is a "plug n' play" kit available.
Others will have specifics....

·
Registered
786 Posts
I also went with the CQ H7 5k light. Some of the best money spent on the bike!
I now ride with all lights on - all the time, Motolights too, and no one has yet to flash back at me. Very pleased!! Also installed the Autoswitch for the Motolights, another great investment, IMO.

·
Registered
103 Posts
I to am looking at the CQ HID headlamp for my 2000 K1200LT but don't know which light kit to look at. Does anyone know the difference between the H7 5000 kit and the 6500 kit? Sounds like most go with the 5000 kit.
Thanks,
John

·