BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When you fill up, does the range estimate immediately go to max range? On my 1200 I had it in my head that once I filled up, very shortly afterwards the range would shoot up to say 300 miles or whatever. On my 1250 currently when I fill up from close to empty, the range kind of slowly builds as I ride so eventually starts to show over 200 miles, but by then I have already been riding for half an hour or more. Or have I been imagining that the range used to go to full range shortly after a fill up? Just trying to understand if I have a problem somewhere :)

·
Registered
1,511 Posts
On my 1200 it use to give me a number after fillup and reajust (up or down) as I started riding
Same on my 1250

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
On my 1200 it use to give me a number after fillup and reajust (up or down) as I started riding
Same on my 1250
Yes, that is what I thought used to happen, but currently when I fill up, the range builds slowly, so adjusts upwards as I ride, but doesn't start off with a max figure. Funnily I filled up a 2015 RTp on Friday, and that did the same, didn't register a max range, just started to build slowly as I rode away, but even though it was brimmed, it never showed above 250 in range.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
14,346 Posts
Same thing on my 2009 GS.

·
Registered
423 Posts
On my '16 RT, I always reset Trip A at each fillup, out of habit from the days of no or bad fuel gauges. I noticed the expected distance to empty is then around 500 km and after a while, maybe half an hour, it slowly readjust to around 400 km.

My question is do you reset Trip A at each fill-up?

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #7