BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for a used, or laying around hitch, and any suggestions on brands. If anybody has any input weigh in, all the posts I have read are pretty old. Thanks, and by the way I'm a newbie, just bought my 06.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
13,940 Posts
I prefer the Bushtec hitch as it puts all the pulling load directly on the main frame with only tongue weight on the rear sub frame. I got lucky and went 60 miles to look at a bike for a guy and when I told him it had a hitch he said do you want it?

Reactions: Mobmw

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have looked at several and I do like the simplicity of the Bushtec. But the looks not so much. Can you take the tire off with it installed? And the price is better than some. Thanks for the input.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
13,940 Posts
I have looked at several and I do like the simplicity of the Bushtec. But the looks not so much. Can you take the tire off with it installed? And the price is better than some. Thanks for the input.
Yes you can IF you have a lift with a drop well in it. I usually remove mine as it is only five easy bolts. I have only done 17 rear tire changes in 16 years on it.

Reactions: Mobmw

·
Enjoy The Ride
3,969 Posts
I have a new DMC LT hitch with a 1 7/8" ball I will sell. I'll post a picture when I get home. $150 plus shipping.

·
Enjoy The Ride
3,969 Posts
I don't have a wiring harness. You can get one with the relays at DMC or Bushtec.

Attachments

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I don't have a wiring harness. You can get one with the relays at DMC or Bushtec.
Ok, I'll take it. Pay Pal alright or??
I also have this used Bushtec hitch that is missing a couple pieces of the mounting hardware. $ 50 plus shipping.