BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

Cover that fits RT?

2K views 23 replies 14 participants last post by  Kabish 
#1 ·
For those of use who need to store our bikes for the winter months... Does anyone know of a good cover for the RT, that fits well, and is inexpensive? I guess it would be nice if it was durable and weatherproof, but mostly, it's to keep it covered indoors during the winter months.

Amazon has many covers, but it is difficult to determine which ones will action fit the Wethead RT, with side cases (no top case).

#2 ·
Walmart has one for around 20 bucks that I use. Blue and gray in color. Mine has worked well for years.

They have covers in two areas, motorcycle stuff and car stuff. The one I'm talking about is normally in the car cover area. Hope that helps.

Sammy

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

#4 ·
I've been using EZ touring covers for a few decades, solid products that pack small enough to easily carry when traveling.

EZ Touring

Not cheap but US made and they last for many years of heavy use. The half cover I use is about $100, other options are more or less.

The web site has suggestions for BMWs, I use the smaller size (#B) so the cover protects my fairing/ windshield and seat, that means where I touch the bike is dry on a wet morning but the trunk and saddlebags aren't covered for easy access. Since I tend to use small tents when I'm in a nice campground my helmet, riding pants and jacket are generally under the cover freeing space inside my tent. If you want to cover the whole bike buy the larger size as they suggest.

#5 ·
The advanced search function can save you both time and perhaps give you thought for expanding what type you really want or need. There are a couple of threads that cover this topic. Maybe they will provide more opinions for you.

https://www.bmwlt.com/forums/rt-series/182533-travel-covers.html

https://www.bmwlt.com/forums/rt-series/138929-rainproof-covers.html

Why cover it indoors only?