Ohlins - BMW Luxury Touring Community
 3Likes
  • 3 Post By rtwiz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old Aug 9th, 2019, 5:28 pm Thread Starter

Garage
Ohlins

I'm new to the BMW world. I just picked up a 2005 R1200RT with Ohlins front and rear. I was wondering if there was a comprehensive post about setting these up for my weight and riding style? The only thing I am finding is some general shock set up stuff. TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old Aug 10th, 2019, 6:57 pm

Re: Ohlins

Welcome to the forum, and RT ownership. Here's the manuals from the Ohlins site. You probably already found this. Pretty basic.

https://www.ohlins.com/support/manua.../?docs=r1200rt

And here is the section on this site pertaining to suspensions. If you use the Google window to search on Ohlins you will get a ton of site-specific results. Ignore the first few hits from outside web searches.

https://www.bmwlt.com/forums/shocks-suspension/

You might also call Ted Porter at the Beemer Shop in Scotts Valley, CA. He's an expert on BMW suspension. He might be able to give you some tips.

https://www.beemershop.com

Cheers,
John

2014 F800GT Valencia Orange
2017 R1200RT Carbon Black

Last edited by JBinAZ; Aug 10th, 2019 at 7:35 pm. Reason: add more info
post #3 of 9 Old Aug 11th, 2019, 10:46 am Thread Starter

Garage

JB, Thanks for the links. I'll look into this. I'm used to touring on my Harley Street Glide. It set up for long haul comfort and the suspension is all Legend so I hit the twisties harder than most with it. I hope that this R1200RT can work for me. I'm not used to the riding position at all.

post #4 of 9 Old Aug 11th, 2019, 6:53 pm