7Likes
  • 1 Post By zamram
  • 2 Post By alegerlotz
  • 3 Post By Beemer tiger
  • 1 Post By veteranbicycle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old Apr 21st, 2019, 12:44 pm Thread Starter

R1200RT blues

I am a machinist, so I like to think I have good mechanical aptitude, however I would like some advice about the future of my bike - is it worth fixing?

I bought my US-spec 2011 R1200RT brand new from Dexheimer Motorradzentrum in Kaiserslautern when I was stationed in Heidelberg. After going back to the states, I had service done at Capital BMW in Raleigh when I was stationed at Ft. Bragg, NC until 2013.

After my discharge, I only sporadically had it serviced, and over the years things have started to go wrong.

The first to go was the left side heated grip, replaced under warranty. That has since also gone bad, without being repaired since the warranty expired.

On my trip home to NY from NC in 2013, my factory battery failed several times. I didn't have time to wait overnight for an eval and warranty replacement, so I bought an Odyssey battery. I replaced that last month with the same model, a PC680, although I think the battery isn't the problem now (more on that below).

Mice chewed through the harness that leads to the audio button panel, which I have also not fixed. Looks like just a new harness would fix it though.

The high-beam bulb started blowing out regularly, and I've dealt without a high beam for the last few years.

The seat started disintegrating, so last Fall I bought a NOS unheated seat on ebay.

I replaced the oil and filter myself recently for the first time ever, and before that it was probably 10,000 miles ago. It had both fuel and water in it. I plan to replace it within 1000 miles this time to see if its cleaner.

I successfully replaced the front and rear brake pads myself a couple of weeks ago, and I think I'm ready for some more challenging work.