2013 Brake Bleeding Problem - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old Jul 14th, 2014, 12:12 am Thread Starter

2013 Brake Bleeding Problem

Today I bled the front and rear brakes on my new-to-me 2013 R1200RT. I've been bleeding brakes on BMW's for many years so what happened has me baffled.

I used Valvoline Dot 3 & 4 fluid from a new, unopened can. I replaced the stock bleeder nipples with Speedbleeders front and rear so it was an easy one-man flush. At no time did the fluid levels in the reservoirs get low enough to draw in air. I found no air in the existing fluid. Prior to the flush, the rear brakes were solid. I took care to not let brake fluid run down on the brake pads. Where some brake fluid accumulated on the caliper, I sprayed with Brake Cleaner.

Here's the dilemma. Following the bleeding, the rear brake feels mushy as if air was in the system. I cannot come close to purposefully locking up the rear brake or causing the ABS to activate.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

Tom Pfeffer

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2013 R1200RT,
2000 R1100RT
1983 R100RS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old Jul 14th, 2014, 6:06 am

Re: 2013 Brake Bleeding Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by tpfeffer View Post
Today I bled the front and rear brakes on my new-to-me 2013 R1200RT. I've been bleeding brakes on BMW's for many years so what happened has me baffled.

I used Valvoline Dot 3 & 4 fluid from a new, unopened can. I replaced the stock bleeder nipples with Speedbleeders front and rear so it was an easy one-man flush. At no time did the fluid levels in the reservoirs get low enough to draw in air. I found no air in the existing fluid. Prior to the flush, the rear brakes were solid. I took care to not let brake fluid run down on the brake pads. Where some brake fluid accumulated on the caliper, I sprayed with Brake Cleaner.