Harley style boots vs touring / street riding boots - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 Old Mar 29th, 2013, 9:51 am Thread Starter

Harley style boots vs touring / street riding boots

I was looking at getting some Teknic boots (cheap I know) to wear when riding as opposed to my big logger harley type boots. Is there a comfort difference that is substantial or is it just a bunch of hooplah?

Ean

2003 BMW K1200LT
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old Apr 2nd, 2013, 11:48 am

Re: Harley style boots vs touring / street riding boots

I have a pair of Tourmaster Solution 2.0 boots. They are good and comfortable when off the mtorcycle which is important to me.

Jim G - Rochester, MN
BMW MOA #123976
2000 K1200LTC
post #3 of 30 Old Apr 2nd, 2013, 1:00 pm

Ean, I think the boots designed more specifically for motorcycling tend to be more functional and more protective than the logger boot you mentioned. The soles are usually more flexible and the uppers are designed w/ reinforcements for the shifter, as well as better ankle support and protection. Level of comfort is most likely relative to each wearer. It seems the harley style has more to do w/ making a particular fashion statement, though I can see the pull-on shafts being easier to get in and out, as opposed to the street/touring boot with a shaft that fits snug, therefore they will often have zippers to get in and out of. Boots with snug fitting shafts are likely to be hotter in summertime. The "biker" boot usually has more of a heel and can have more pronounced shank, while the other tends to have a flatter sole. I bought some boots designed more for riding, and I did find them to be fairly comfortable for walking around in, though they weren't ideal for trekking several miles through the Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks in New Mexico. Personally, I like wearing my boots when I ride, but that's not P.C. with the AGATT crowd.

Jeff
Big D is my neck of the woods