BMW System 5 helmets - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old Apr 14th, 2009, 8:14 pm Thread Starter

BMW System 5 helmets

I'm new to BMW, I just purchased my 2004 LT last week after riding a 1500 wing for the last 7 years. I love it. My question is That my LT came with 2 System 5 helmets, (One of them has the liner missing and both have the blue tooth power source missing) which I understand have never been imported to the US. I contacted Bobs Bmw and they recommended I talk to a BMW shop in Canada for replacedment liners and power sources for the Bluetooth. I did and they couldn't help. Anyone have a source or suggestion?
Thanks, Ron
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old Apr 14th, 2009, 11:04 pm

Re: BMW System 5 helmets

Yeah.. I don't think Sys5 helmets are available in the US...so I can only imagine your only option is Canada.

Now, some of our family here is from Europe... and maybe they can get the parts.

Good luck and welcome aboard!
post #3 of 8 Old Apr 15th, 2009, 2:35 am

Ron

I would be happy to help you out with obtaining new liners. If you could send memore details about what is missing and maybe a couple of photots I will check with my local dealer. I have a PDF of the destruction manual for the WCS system and it states that the batteries are 3 x AA NiMh rechargeable batteries each 2000 mAh - the sort you would find in digital cameras.

Regards

Graham Wintersgill
On the bonnnie bonnie banks of Loch Lomond

2001 K1200LT

1995 K75RT now deceased

post #4 of 8 Old Apr 15th, 2009, 3:42 am

I fitted the aftermarket kit that bmw made for these helmets as the factory fitted option was prone to getting water into the circuit board.The batteries are 3 aa type batteries,I would try the helmet with 3 fresh batteries.