Need Warm (Hot) Weather Gear Advice - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 Old Mar 23rd, 2009, 7:32 pm Thread Starter

Need Warm (Hot) Weather Gear Advice

When I picked up the condo here last fall, my plan was to spend the winter in Las Vegas then return to Colorado before the warm (hot) weather hit. I'm enjoying myself so much I may spend a bit more time here this summer than I planned. Despite the anticipated heat, I find it difficult to contemplate riding without ATGATT. What recommendations can I get for jackets, pants and helmets that are known to be the coolest on the market while providing acceptable protection. Money is less a concern than comfort.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 Old Mar 23rd, 2009, 8:44 pm

Re: Need Warm (Hot) Weather Gear Advice

I'm down here in southern Louisiana and it gets very hot and humid for a good bit of the year. I've been wearing a Joe Rocket Mesh Jacket for about 4 years now and it keeps me pretty comfortable (at least as much as you can be when not in an air conditioned environment). I wear a Schubert helm and a pair of BMW cruiser leather gloves. The gloves are pretty good as they aren't padded and the Schubert is the best I've ever had. Still could use some more vents though. I also use one of those cool wrap dew rags under the helmet. I can soak its crystal tail in cool water and it helps keep my head cool under the helmet. For any trips I go with a water bladder stuck back there with the back protector and the straw brought around so I can sip it. I found one at Walmart for about 10 bucks a couple of years ago. Hope that helps.
post #3 of 42 Old Mar 23rd, 2009, 11:46 pm
BMW Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moot