Suggestions for commuting apparel... - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old Nov 8th, 2005, 6:46 pm Thread Starter

Smile Suggestions for commuting apparel...

I am relatively new to the touring community and I plan to use my 1200LT primarily for commuting to work 3 seasons.

I wear business casual and I plan to wear a black leather riding jacket and riding boots. However, I am unsure about the pants. I want to have protection, but without looking like a dork or requiring that I shower and get my clothes drycleaned when I arrive at work in the AM. The many styles of riding chaps are not my idea of 'cool' . I don't have a huge bank account to buy overalls either..

What do you guys wear when commuting to work? What would you suggest that would look cool, but not need a loan to purchase?

Thanks!

-Larry

2005 BMW K1200LT Blue
BMWMOA #124788

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Predecessor:
1999 K1200LT (entered the BMW "organ donation program" on 6/2/11) 38,256 Miles
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old Nov 8th, 2005, 7:09 pm

Considering that one visit to get checked out and a few bandages after picking the gravel out of your knee can cost well into four figures, five if there's any problem, I suggest that there probably shouldn't be a budget consideration regarding protective gear. Oh, yeah, then there's the pain!

That said, I'd suggest First Gear or Feldsheer as options for slip over pants. Try them on to see how good the zippers are and how easy they are to put on or take off. If they're tough to mount, you won't use them.

I'd really suggest you check out Aerostich for commuting. In and out in less than 10 seconds, well built, good quality, and they'll fix them the way you want them. Perhaps only buy a set of pants this year and get a matching jacket later. FWIW.

Pete Jessen
CCR 02, 03, 04, 08, 10