Help Choosing A New Helmet (Long & Detailed) - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old Mar 30th, 2017, 8:23 am Thread Starter

Help Choosing A New Helmet (Long & Detailed)

Hello Everyone. K1200s Rider here in New England. I have my bike set up as an 80% touring outfit. Large bags, handlebar risers, touring windscreen, cruise control, etc.

I am in the market for a new helmet. I have been wearing a Shark RSR for last 7 years. Comfy helmet in general, but a bit too big because the Sharks' sizing is off for my head. Medium is unwearable and large is just a bit too big. Decided that it was time for a new helmet when I scratched my visor and the top vent lever broke. The shark was nice, but VERY noisy. I have a weird head size and vary from Large in some helmets to small in others.

As a NE tourer and commuter, the weather conditions can range from 28 degrees F to 100 degrees F with 100% humidity. I will ride all the way down to mid 20's as long as there is no ice on the roads. My daily ride has me heading into work mid day and not coming home until after dark, and regular commutes from Boston area into Upstate New York (Catskills and Adirondacks) see pretty varied conditions.

Absolute Musts:

1. Helmet must have a great sealing mechanism (no leaking), pinlock, etc. to deal with fogging.
2. Must be on the quieter end of the spectrum. My ears are very sensitive, and whistling noises/ heavy wind noises are an issue.
3. Must either have a photo-chromatic visor option or good smoke / tinted visors available. (I will not wear sunglasses inside of the helmet)
4. Must have great ventilation.
5. MUST have a large viewport and easy head-check visibility and control (no sail while head checking). I have a neck issue that has been surgically corrected and have limited ability to turn my head. Large viewport and aerodynamics for head checking is VERY important.